Menu Close

“European doctorate” label

Definition


The UBFC doctoral mission implements a “European doctorate” label to promote PhD student mobility.

The label had to be applied for before thesis defence; it is reserved to students from the 28 EU countries, and extended to the other free-exchange states (Switzerland, Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein). It is not to be mistaken with the international thesis co-supervision procedure, but it can come in addition to it.

The “European doctorate” consists of a certificate added to the classical doctoral degree; it is issued by UBFC and signed by its president.

This label is issued when the PhD student meets the following four criteria:

  1. Prior to defence, the works will be examined by two reporter colleagues habilitated to direct research, belonging to two institutions other than the one in which the thesis will be defended, including at least one non-French European one. The reports will clearly mention that the research works can lead to issuance of a doctoral diploma, and arrive at the doctoral school four weeks before defence.
  2. The jury composition will be defined by regulatory texts, with at least one jury member belonging to a higher-education institution from a European state other than the one in which the thesis will be defended.
  3. At least part of defence will be done in a national European language other than the national language of the country where the thesis will be defended.
  4. The PhD student will have spent at least three months doing research in an EU member state.

 

Procedure

The full procedure is available here.
The application form is available in your ADUM personal space.

Menu Fermer

Label doctorat européen

Définition


Afin d’encourager la mobilité des doctorants, la Mission Doctorale UBFC met en place le label « Doctorat européen ».
Le label se demande avant la soutenance de la thèse et est réservé aux étudiants originaires des 28 pays de l’Union européenne, étendu aux autres états de libre-échange (Suisse, Islande, Norvège, Liechtenstein). Il s’agit d’une qualification qui ne doit pas être confondue avec la procédure de conduite de thèse en cotutelle, mais à laquelle il peut s’ajouter.
Le « Doctorat européen » consiste en une attestation ajoutée au diplôme de doctorat classique, délivrée par UBFC et signée par son président.

Ce label est délivré lorsque l’étudiant a satisfait aux quatre critères suivants :

1. Préalablement à la soutenance, les travaux seront examinés par deux collègues rapporteurs, habilités à diriger des recherches, appartenant à deux établissements autres que celui dans lequel la thèse doit être soutenue, dont au moins un européen non français. Les rapports devront clairement mentionner que les travaux de recherche peuvent faire l’objet d’une délivrance de doctorat et parvenir à l’école doctorale quatre semaines avant la soutenance.

2. La composition du jury sera définie par les textes avec au moins un membre du jury appartenant à un établissement d’enseignement supérieur d’un Etat européen autre que celui dans lequel le doctorat est soutenu.

3. Une partie au moins de la soutenance doit être effectuée dans une langue nationale européenne autre que la langue nationale du pays où est soutenu le doctorat.

4. Le doctorant doit avoir effectué un séjour de recherche d’au moins trois mois dans un pays membre de l’Union européenne.

 

Procédure

La procédure complète est à consulter ici.
Le formulaire de candidature est disponible dans votre espace personnel ADUM.