Menu Close

Doctoral degree actors

The PhD student

The PhD student is a training researcher. Throughout the 3 years of the thesis, he/she builds up professional experience within a research unit. His/Her works are the subject of a doctoral thesis. He/She is the author of the thesis, and presents it during defence..

The PhD student enrolls in a doctoral school (DS) certified by the Université Bourgogne Franche-Comté (UBFC) institution, to which his/her research unit belongs. He/She is supervised throughout the thesis by a thesis supervisor, or even two if the thesis takes place within the framework of international or local co-supervision.

 

The thesis supervisor

The thesis supervisor is the holder of a habilitation to direct research (HDR). He/She supervises the PhD student and helps him/her define and carry out his/her doctoral project, as well as his/her professional integration. He/She belongs to the doctoral school where the PhD student is registered.

Within the framework of international co-supervision, the PhD student is jointly supervised by two thesis supervisors. The first one belongs to the institution with which he/she registered, and the second one to the partner university.

Within the framework of local co-supervision, the PhD student is also supervised by two persons, i.e. the thesis supervisor and a co-supervisor. The co-supervisor can be the holder of an HDR or not. The latter case is called non-HDR co-supervision.

Research units

The PhD student carries out his/her research work in a research unit that hosts him/her and contributes to his/her training. The laboratory belongs to the DS with which the PhD student registered. It is often the place where the PhD student works daily, and represents his/her scientific environment. The Head of the research unit is thus directly implied in the PhD student’s supervision; he/she takes part in the decisions made throughout the doctoral thesis.

The list of the laboratories that belong to the DSs is available on the DSs’ respective websites.

 

The UBFC doctoral mission

The UBFC doctoral mission gathers all the administrative staff involved in implementing the policy defined by the Doctoral College.
It includes the following structures:
– the doctoral schools (13 secretariats in 3 sites)
– the administrative offices of each site
– the cross-cutting doctoral mission (at the UBFC head office)
– the Doctoral College body
– UBFC governance, represented by the vice-president in charge of coordinating training and professional integration.

It is organised as follows:

Menu Fermer

Les acteurs du doctorat

Le doctorant

Le doctorant est un chercheur en formation. Pendant les 3 années de sa thèse, il se forme à la recherche et se forge une expérience professionnelle au sein d’une unité de recherche. Ses travaux font l’objet d’une thèse de doctorat dont il est l’auteur et qu’il présente lors de la soutenance de thèse.

Le doctorant s’inscrit dans une École Doctorale (ED), accréditée par l’établissement Université Bourgogne Franche-Comté (UBFC) et à laquelle est rattachée son Unité de Recherche. Il est encadré tout au long de sa thèse par un directeur de thèse, voire deux si la thèse se déroule dans le cadre d’une cotutelle internationale ou d’une codirection.

 

Le directeur de thèse

Le directeur de thèse est titulaire de l’Habilitation à Diriger des Recherches (HDR). Il est l’encadrant du doctorant et l’accompagne dans la définition et le déroulement de son projet doctoral, ainsi que dans son insertion professionnelle. Il est rattaché à l’école doctorale d’inscription du doctorant.

Dans le cadre d’une cotutelle internationale de thèse, le doctorant est conjointement encadré par deux directeurs de thèse : le premier appartient à son établissement d’inscription et le second appartient à l’université partenaire.

Dans le cadre d’une codirection, le doctorant est également encadré par deux personnes : le directeur de thèse et un codirecteur, qui peut être également lui-même titulaire de l’HDR ou pas (on parle alors de codirection sans HDR).

 

 Les unités de recherche

Le doctorant effectue ses travaux de recherche dans une Unité de Recherche, qui l’accueille et contribue à sa formation. Ce laboratoire est rattaché à son ED d’inscription. Il est souvent le lieu de travail quotidien du doctorant et constitue son environnement scientifique. Le directeur de l’Unité de Recherche est ainsi directement impliqué dans l’encadrement du jeune chercheur ; il participe aux décisions prises tout au long du doctorat.

La liste des laboratoires rattachés est consultable sur les sites internet respectifs de chaque ED.

 

La Mission doctorale UBFC

La Mission doctorale UBFC regroupe l’ensemble des acteurs administratifs dédié à la mise en œuvre de la politique définie par le Collège doctoral.
Elle regroupe :
– les écoles doctorales (13 secrétariats sur 3 sites)
– les bureaux administratifs de site
– la mission doctorale transversale (au siège d’UBFC)
– l’instance Collège doctoral
– la gouvernance d’UBFC, représentée par la vice-présidente chargée de la coordination de la formation et de l’insertion professionnelle

Elle est organisée comme suit :